Connect with us


OAU Alumni Association, Osogbo Branch Inaugurates New Exco

The Osogbo branch of the Obafemi Awolowo University Alumni Association known as “Great Ife Alumni Association” has inaugurated new executive members to steer the ship of the association.
The new chairman of the Association is Mr Yinka Odewale, the General  Secretary is Miss Adeola Adefajo, while the Treasurer of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Osun State Council, Mr Demola Lawal emerged as the new Publicity Secretary of the association.
Delivering his inaugural speech at the event held at the Oba Abolarin College, Oke-Ila Orangun, the chairman said the new Executive is not going to relax on the achievements of the past leaders of the association but work harder to build on it and make the Osogbo branch of the association a pride of all.
Mr Odewale called on other members of the association to rally round the new Exco so that the job of taking the association to the next level of development will be easily achieved for the benefit of all.
The new chairman who appealed for the support of the former leaders of the association as well as members promised to carry all members along in all major decisions concerning the growth and development of the association.
According to him, “The sustenance of, and the improvement upon the successes recorded by the last two teams can only be possible if all hands are on deck. Together we can take this association to even greater heights than we met it.
“It is for this reason that I want to remind all of us who have just been sworn in that the stake is high, if our intention is not just to retain the bar but also to raise it. To attain success, we must work together as a team.
“We must always be constantly guided by the axiom that “there is no individual success in a collective failure”. In other words, if we fail, God forbid, not anyone of the new officers will have the courage to beat his/her chest and say “I have played my role very well.
“May I also appeal to the whole house for their unflinching support. What Osungbohun and Falode offered was genuine leadership. The successes recorded by the duo were actually your handiwork. If you want us to succeed (and I have no doubt you do), you must give us equally unflinching support as we promise to offer you purposeful leadership”. He stated.
In a goodwill message, Chief host of the event, the Orangun of Oke – Ila, His Royal Majesty, Oba Adedokun Abolarin expressed appreciation to the association for giving him the honour of being the host of the event.
He said the Osogbo branch of the alumni association has shown over the years that they are made of responsible and forward thinking members who are determined to attain greatness.
In his handing over speech, the immediate past chairman of the association, Barrister Leye Bunmi Falode, who thanked members of the association for their support during his tenure said it was a pleasure for him to serve.
He said despite the challenges encountered during their tenure, the experience of leading the Osogbo branch of the association was a worthwhile one as they had the support of past leaders who kept on guiding them right.
Barrister Falode who thanked the past leaders, particularly the Chairman Emeritus, Pastor  Gbenga Osungbohun, and members of the association for the support given to his team. He urged the members to support the newly inaugurated executive members in order to succeed on the task at hand.
He stressed that the success of the new exco will go a long way in determining the success of the association at large.
Other members of the new executive are: Vice  Chairman Mr Oluwamayowa Adetoyese Fagbohungbe; Arssistant General Secretary Mr Esho David Tolulope; Treasurer Barr.Niyi Akinsola; Financial Secretary Hon. Adegoke Awotunde; Welfare Officer Mr Adewale Fayoyiwa; Legal Adviser Barr.Wuraola Ogunfolabi; Chief Whip Mr Oluwaseun Christopher Owojori and Internal Auditor Mr Ade Adewumi.
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2023 Daily Mail NG. powered by CrownTech.