Connect with us


Accord Party’s Victor Akande Emerges Osun IPAC Chairman

The State Chairman of Accord Party, Victor Akande has emerged the Osun State Chairman of the Inter-party Advisory Committee, IPAC.

Akande polled the total fifteen votes in an election that took place on Wednesday, at the Osun State headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Osogbo.

This is just as Titus Odesola of the All People’s Party emerged as the Secretary as he polled 14 votes to defeat his rival from the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) who polled only one vote.

Representative of the national executive of IPAC from Abuja, Alhaji Ibrahim Suleiman who conducted the election administered the oath of office to the new members of the executive, led by its newly elected chairman, Victor Akande.

In his acceptance speech, Akande pledged to engender transparency and accountability in all IPAC activities, adding that his administration would prioritise unity among all political stakeholders.

He said “IPAC should expect a very smooth drive for political process and to deepen our democracy, they should expect accountability and transparency in IPAC activities.

“You will hear much from IPAC, we will do everything that is humanly possible to ensure that there is unity among political parties. If there is peace among us the shareholders, there will be peace among our followers.

“At least for once in this country we can have credible elections but it depends on us the main political stakeholders in Nigeria, to we unite ourselves and go against anything that can hamper the progress and deepening of our democracy.”

Admonishing the new executive, the State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr. Mutiu Agboke charged them to make voters education one of their cardinal programmes as this would go a long way in improving the electoral process.

Agboke also told them to start rigorous campaign against votes buying which has recently become a major cancer in electoral process.

Other members of the new executive are, Olubumi Adetunji as the Vice Chairman, Seun Alabi as Financial Secretary, Bello Adebayo – Organising Secretary, Yinus Gbadamosi – Treasurer, Gbenga Afoni – PRO, Afolabi Abiodun – Legal Adviser and Adebayo Sunkanmi – Deputy Secretary.


Copyright © 2023 Daily Mail NG. powered by CrownTech.